Seven undergrads receive annual Trulaske leadership awards

Image: Cornell Hall

2020 Undergraduate Student Leadership Award

Payton Carter

Image: Payton Carter
Payton Carter

Nominated by: Allie Teagarden and Kate Migliazzo

Payton Carter plans to graduate from Mizzou in May 2020 with a BS BA with emphases in finance and banking. As a Trulaske student, Payton has taken advantage of robust international leadership opportunities, including serving as a business development intern for EnTrust Global in London, a summer leader for Respire Haiti, and a Respire Haiti annual fundraiser speaker.

She is a member of the Deaton Scholars Program at MU, studying the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals to work on the global challenges of food insecurity and poverty. Active at the college and on campus, she has served as a Trulaske ambassador, a member of Chi Omega, a teaching assistant for Youth Empowerment Zone, a fundraiser volunteer for International Justice Mission at Mizzou, a participant in UT Invitational Sales Competition and a representative to the Mizzou Outreach Student Recruitment Team.

Megan Conrad

Image: Megan Conrad
Megan Conrad

Nominated by: Shannon Ferguson

Megan plans to graduate from Mizzou in May 2020 with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting.

Megan’s Mizzou experience has included study abroad at Fudan University in Shanghai, China; serving as a business operations undergraduate assistant with MU Residential Life; holding internships with Crazy Lotus in Shanghai and Chapman & Co. Leadership Institute; and acting as a director for the College of Business’ Camp Trulaske. She is a member of the Cornell Leadership Program and the MU Student Fee Review Committee, captain of the MU racquetball team and vice chair of the operations committee for the MU Residence Halls Association.

Christopher Rueve

Image: Christopher Rueve
Christopher Rueve

Nominated by: Alex Horn and Jeff Wiese

Christopher Rueve plans to graduate from Mizzou with bachelor’s degrees in accountancy and economics with a minor in philosophy in May 2021, and a master’s degree in accountancy in May 2022. He serves as an exam proctor for the MU Disability Center. During his time at Mizzou, he has also served as an intern for Bouhasin Law Firm in St. Louis, a barista at Starbucks and an MU Summer Welcome leader.

Christopher is the president-elect of Beta Alpha Psi International Accounting Honors Organization and president of the Trulaske Student Council. He has also served in a variety of leadership roles for Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity and Beta Upsilon Chi Christian Social Fraternity.

Christopher is a past recipient of the Trulaske Emerging Leader Award.

Ryan Sparks

Image: Ryan Sparks
Ryan Sparks

Nominated by: Shawn Pallardy

Ryan plans to graduate from Mizzou in May 2022 with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accountancy. His professional experience includes serving as a KPMG Embark intern in Chicago and gallery host for the Hyatt Place Hotel in Normal, Illinois.

Ryan currently serves as the vice president of the National Association of Black Accountants. At Mizzou, he has been a peer mentor for the Mizzou Black Men’s Initiative and an ambassador for Trulaske’s Vasey Academy. In addition, he has participated in the KPMG Diversity Leadership Conference and the Regional Business Council Mentor Networking Program, and served on the Altria Student Leadership Development Program Marketing Committee.

Ryan has volunteered with Mizzou Alternative Breaks, Provision Living Senior Citizen Home, the Food Bank for Central & Northeast Missouri and Step Forward at Mizzou.

Yasmeen Taranissi

Image: Yasmeen Taranissi
Yasmeen Taranissi

Nominated by: Shannon Breske and Leilani Tiefenthaler

Yasmeen Taranissi plans to graduate from Mizzou in May 2021 with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accountancy and a bachelor’s degree in economics, applied. She currently serves as the president of Mortar Board, co-chair of the Trulaske Executive Diversity Committee and a student ambassador for the MU College of Arts and Science. During her time at Mizzou, she has also served as a teaching assistant in the Department of Economics and director of Business Week.

Yasmeen is a member of the MU Dean Scholars Institute and the MU Honors College, and is a two-time recipient of the Department of Economics’ Leaders’ Board Excellence Award.

Yasmeen is currently a marketing insights analyst intern with Veterans United, and previously served as a trading systems and controls intern with Edward Jones and a research assistant with the MU Department of Economics.

Nathaniel Waters

Image: Nathaniel Waters
Nathaniel Waters

Nominated by: Stacy Rohr

Nathaniel plans to graduate from Mizzou in May 2020 with a BS BA with an emphasis in finance and banking. His professional experience includes an internship with JPMorgan Chase & Co. in New York. He is a member of the Cornell Leadership Program; Alpha Kappa Psi business fraternity, for which he currently serves as president; and Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity. He is a former lead director for Camp Trulaske and team captain for Relay for Life.

Nathaniel’s honors include being named to the Omicron Delta Tap Class in Spring 2019, Trulaske Finance Top 10, Cornell Leadership Program Rising Junior and Trulaske Emerging Leader of the Year.

2020 Edward J. Rapp Award for Leadership

Tyler Hoffmann

Image: Tyler Hoffmann
Tyler Hoffmann

Nominated by: Mary Beth Marrs

Tyler Hoffman will graduate from Mizzou in May 2020 with bachelor’s degrees in business administration (with an emphasis in finance), mathematics and statistics.

As a Trulaske student, Tyler is very involved in the life of the college. He has participated in the Trulaske study abroad program in Bergamo, Italy; the Cornell Leadership Program; Alpha Kappa Psi Business Fraternity; Trulaske Student Ambassadors; and as a counselor for Camp Trulaske. In addition, he has worked with a senior faculty member in the Financial Mathematics Department as part of the Discovery Fellows Program, conducting research on trading and hedging strategies using a mathematical approach. He plays both roller hockey and racquetball with Mizzou club teams.

Tyler’s received the Emerging Leader of the Year Award for the 2016-2017 academic year and is a member of Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society.