Orin Ethics Symposium

The Richard M. Orin Ethics Symposium focuses on the intersection of ethics and accounting. Held annually, this lecture series has been hosted by the School of Accountancy at the Trulaske College of Business since 1997.

The series is named in honor of Richard M. Orin, who received a business administration degree from Mizzou in 1949. Though Mr. Orin’s education was twice interrupted with military service, he also completed a JD in 1955 and a master’s degree in taxation law in 1957 at New York University. He spent his career practicing tax law as an attorney and certified public accountant.

Mr. Orin believed that the true essence of public accounting is professional responsibility and ethics. Through the Orin Ethics Symposium, this value will be instilled in others.


Image: Kevyn Orr

2023: Kevyn D. Orr

Partner-in-charge U.S. Offices for Jones Day

"The Bankruptcy of Detroit: A Retrospective and Lessons Learned"

Learn more



Past Events

2022: Tyler Shultz

Theranos Whistleblower and current CEO and Co-Founder of Flux Biosciences, Inc.

"Fraud is Not a Trade Secret: A Conversation with Tyler Shultz"

Learn More

2021: Tim Mayopoulos 

President of Blend and Former President/CEO of Fannie Mae

"The Submarine Mortgage Crisis: A Review and Lessons for a Better Housing Finance System" 

Learn More

2019: Gerald Carlson

KPMG Managing Partner (Retired)

"Ethics in Leadership and Fulfilling Professional Commitments"

Learn More

2018: Dr. Steven Mintz

Professor Emeritus from California Polytechnic State University

Learn More

2017: Mark Whitacre 

Whistleblower and Former Executive of ADM 

"When Good Leaders Lose Their Way"

Learn More

2016: Jacob Soll

Professor of History and Accounting at University of Southern California

"Financial Accountability and the Rise and Fall of Nations"

2015: Andrew Fastow

Former Chief Financial Officer of Enron Corporation

"Pride and Repentance: The Enron Story"

2014: Michael Oxley

Former Congressman and Former Chairman of the House Financial Services Committee

"Review of Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002"

2014: Sheila Bair

Former Chairman of the Federal Insurance Corporation

"The Future of Financial Services"

2011: Chris Dodd

Former US Senator, Chair of the Senate Banking Committee and US Presidential Candidate

"Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act"

2010: Harry Markopolos 


"Blowing the Whistle on Bernie Madoff"

2008: Paul Sarbanes

Former US Senator and Co-Author of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act

2008: Steven Mintz and Roselyn Morris

Professor of Accounting at California Polytechnic State University

Chair of Accounting Department at Texas State University—San Marcos

2007: Sam Antar

Former CPA,CFO of Crazy Eddie, Inc, and convicted felon

2006: Patrick Kuhse and Lynn Turner

International Speaker, Trainer and Consultant on Business Ethics and former financial services executive who served a prison term after being convicted of white-collar crimes

Managing Director of Research Glass Lewis & Company and former chief accountant of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

2005: Cynthia Cooper, Barbara Hannigan and Marianne Jennings

Formerly of WorldCom and one of TIME magazine’s 2002 Persons of the Year

Associate General Counsel & Ethics Officer for Public Company Accounting Oversight Board

Professor of Ethical & Legal Studies at Arizona State University



Learn more about Mr. Orin:

Awarding of honorary doctorate (2018)

Mr. Orin’s obituary (2023)