University of Missouri Investment Group

The University of Missouri Investment Group (UMIG) is sponsored by the Trulaske College of Business’ Jeffrey E. Smith Institute of Real Estate and Capital Markets, which enhances the Trulaske curriculum by providing support in the areas of real estate and capital markets. 

UMIG facilitates opportunities for students to interact with professionals in high finance, and provides a variety of educational and networking opportunities for students interested in investment banking, private equity, asset management and other careers in capital markets.


General meetings are held on Tuesday nights from 6-7 p.m. in 115 Cornell Hall on the University of Missouri campus. Weekly lessons taught by members of the Associates Program inform the general group about careers in high finance, different methods of valuation, and news surrounding the world of finance. After an eight-week bootcamp is completed, general members are encouraged to apply for the upper-level Associates Program.

Members of the Associates Program complete a competitive application process designed to mimic the applications of jobs in capital markets such as investment banking and private equity.

Corporate Visits

UMIG travels each academic year to visit Mizzou alumni working in New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Kansas City and St. Louis. The purpose of these trips is to connect Associates Program members to Mizzou alumni.

2020-2021 UMIG Executive Board

UMIG’s executive board’s members seek to improve the quality of existing UMIG programs while creating new opportunities for students to interact with professionals throughout the business community.

Executive Board

  • President: David Feng
  • Vice-President: Ian Wall
  • Chief Financial Officer: Matt Wasson
  • Chief Operating Officer: Truman Webb

Associates Members

  • Brian Baker
  • Hunter Bernardi
  • Jack Biermann
  • Kendal Bittick
  • Stephen Bowen 
  • Nick Catalano
  • Ben Daniel
  • Joe Davis
  • Jess Fisher
  • Ben Hawkins
  • Ankit Jain
  • Carson Lujin
  • Mateo Mateo-Mateo
  • Jack Mendonsa
  • Gunner Noble
  • Thomas Nordmann
  • Ethan Ortmann
  • Shelby Odle
  • Myles Opdahl
  • Abhilash Parath
  • Drew Patel
  • David Retherford
  • Lorien Stevens
  • Sam Talkington
  • Will Tran
  • Colby Winner

Staff Advisor