Financial Research Institute

The Financial Research Institute (FRI) was established in 1988 within the Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business at the University of Missouri to promote education, research and service across various areas of finance. Today the FRI, through its public utility division, provides a neutral environment for stakeholders in the regulated public utility industry to come together to examine, understand, and debate current issues relating to public utility policy.

Mission Statement

Under the academic leadership of the Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business at the University of Missouri, the Financial Research Institute, through its Public Utilities Division, serves as a neutral environment for the comprehensive examination of sound regulatory policy. The FRI provides interactive forums for consumers, regulators, industry and educators to facilitate innovation, understanding, and education in public utility policy issues.

Public Utility Symposium

The most visible program is the annual Symposium. This is a unique event where the content and speakers are brought together with the cooperation of commissioners, industry, and consumer advocates – resulting in a timely topic that is relevant and equally represented amongst public utility policy stakeholders. Approximately 200 utility executives, regulators and staff, and consumer advocates attend the Symposium which is held at University of Missouri.

5-22-2020 UPDATE: Due to the national impact of the COVID-19 virus, the 2020 Public Utility Symposium has been transformed into a four-part webinar series scheduled to take place October 14, 21, 28 and November 4. Each webinar will feature a 90-minute virtual conversation designed to explore The Forces Driving Public Utility Regulatory Policy Redesign and Innovation, and will be structured around one of four primary driving forces: technological, market, legal, and physical. 


FRI Crystal Award for Distinguished Contribution

The FRI Crystal Award for Distinguished Contribution recognizes an individual who has made recent outstanding and significant contributions to the design, implementation, or analysis of public utility regulatory policy. It provides an opportunity to recognize excellence and achievement across regulated industries and further promotes the mission and purpose of the FRI.

Learn more about this award

Read about 2020 recipient, Kenneth A. Colburn

State Commission Board Representation

FRI Advisory Board

The FRI Advisory Board was established in 1988 as an essential component of the FRI. The board includes regulators, industry executives, and consumer representatives and operates under the leadership of John S. Howe, PhD. The board provides financial assistance and identifies the FRI’s strategic direction.

Christopher Ayers

Executive Director, North Carolina Utilities Commission Public Staff

Adam Benshoff

Executive Director, Regulatory Affairs, Edison Electric Institute

John Betkoski

Vice Chairman, Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority

Sarah Ruen Blanchard

Manager, Regulatory Relations & Policy, Alliant Energy

Rodolphe Bouichou

CFO, Utility Division, SUEZ

Julie Brown

Comissioner, Florida Public Service Commission

Robert Conroy

Vice President, State Regulation & Rates, LG&E KU Energy

Deborah Dewey

President, Missouri Water

Susan K. Duffy

Chair, Kansas Corporation Commission

Jennifer Easler

Consumer Advocate, Office of Consumer Advocate of Iowa

Sarah Freeman

Commissioner, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

Chuck Harder

Deputy Attorney General, Consumer Utility Rate Advocacy Division, Office of Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge

Mary-Anna Holden

Commissioner, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities

Darrin Ives

VP, Regulatory Affairs, Evergy Companies

James Jenkins

Vice President, Regulatory Services, American Water

Brad Johnson

Chairman, Montana Public Service Commission

Elin Katz

Managing Director, Energy Consulting & Associate General Counsel, Tilson

Paul Kjellander

Commissioner, Idaho Public Utilities Commission

Brett Leopold

Vice President, ITC Holdings Corp. and President, ITC Great Plains, ITC Holdings Corporation

Richard Lozier

Commissioner, Iowa Utilities Board

Steve Lubertozzi

President, Midwest and Mid-Atlantic Business Units, Utilities, Inc.

John Marciszewski

Senior Director, Water Investor Owned Utilities, Mueller

Mark Martin

Vice President, Rates & Regulatory Affairs, Atmos Energy

Talina Mathews

Commissioner, Kentucky Public Service Commission

Dana Murphy

Commissioner, Oklahoma Corporation Commission

Chad Newhouse

Vice President, Regulatory Policy & Strategy, Commonwealth Edison

Kimberly O'Guinn

Commissioner, Arkansas Public Service Commission

Sadzi Oliva

Commissioner, Illinois Commerce Commission

Mary M. Pietrzyk

Director, Stakeholder Strategy and Engagement, Nuclear Energy Institute

Stan Pinegar

President, Duke Energy Indiana

Marc Poston

Public Counsel, Missouri Office of the Public Counsel

Brandon Presley

Chairman, Mississippi Public Service Commission

Tricia Pridemore

Commissioner, Georgia Public Service Commission

Clifford Rechtschaffen

Commissioner, California Public Utilities Commission

Kyle Rogers

Vice President, External Affairs, Spire

Donald Rowlett

Managing Director, Regulatory Affairs, Oklahoma Gas and Electric Company

Jill Schwartz

Utility Rates and Regulatory Manager, Liberty Utilities

Melissa Seymour

Executive Director, External Affairs, MISO

Ryan A. Silvey

Chairman, Missouri Public Service Commission

Cory Slaughter

Director, Rates & Regulatory Affairs, Oklahoma Natural Gas

David Springe

Executive Director, NASUCA

Jeff Stein

Policy Advisor, Power & Gas, American Petroleum Institute

Tom Stevens

Director, Regulatory & Finance, Black Hills Energy

Paul Suskie

EVP, Regulatory Policy & General Counsel, Southwest Power Pool, Inc.

Cas Swiz

Director, Rates & Regulatory Performance Management, Vectren

Beth Trombold

Vice Chair, Public Utilities Commission of Ohio

Warren Wood

Vice President, External Affairs & Communication, Ameren Missouri

FRI Programs

The Hot Topic Hotline (HTH) is a bi-monthly program for members to discuss relevant issues. Each HTH is sponsored by an advisory board member. This program provides an opportunity for regulators, industry, and consumer advocates to discuss and debate issues on a variety of topics in a neutral environment.