Robert J. Trulaske Sr., College of Business, University of Missouri

Missouri Bankers Chair

The College of Business was established in 1914 as a senior professional school and currently retains the accreditation of the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) first granted in 1926.

The Missouri Bankers Chair was created because of the educational needs of the Missouri banking community. The chair is held by Dr. John S. Howe, Finance Professor at the University of Missouri since June 1994. The goals of this position are to:

  • Encourage young men and women to pursue careers in banking
  • Prepare students for a competitive, changing financial marketplace
  • Promote interaction between the banking community and the College
  • Stimulate top-quality teaching and research
  • Contribute to the financial community in Missouri and throughout the U.S.

College banking graduates are recruited heavily by employers from Missouri and throughout the Midwest. Demand is due, in part, to significant regulatory changes that are breaking down traditional distinctions between retail banks, brokerage firms and investment banking operations. The ingenuity of financial engineers in creating new financial markets and services increases the need for highly educated college graduates interested in banking careers. Employment opportunities encourage a significant number of students to enroll in banking and finance courses. Currently, the finance program is the primary area of study for more than 28 percent of upper-level undergraduates and 30 percent of MBA students in our College. Classes offered by the finance department are also taken by a significant number of other business students and non-business majors.