Robert J. Trulaske Sr., College of Business, University of Missouri

About the FRI

Mission Statement

Under the academic leadership of the Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business at the University of Missouri, the Financial Research Institute, through its Public Utilities Division, serves as a neutral environment for the comprehensive examination of sound regulatory policy. The FRI provides interactive forums for consumers, regulators, industry and educators to facilitate innovation, understanding, and education in public utility policy issues.

FRI at a Glance

The Financial Research Institute (FRI) was established in 1988 within the Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business at the University of Missouri to promote education, research and service across various areas of finance. Today the FRI, through its public utility division, provides a neutral environment for stakeholders in the regulated public utility industry to come together to examine, understand, and debate current issues relating to public utility policy.

Annual Public Utility Symposium

The most visible program is the annual Symposium. This is a unique event where the content and speakers are brought together with the cooperation of commissioners, industry, and consumer advocates – resulting in a timely topic that is relevant and equally represented amongst public utility policy stakeholders. Approximately 200 utility executives, regulators and staff, and consumer advocates attend the Symposium which is held at University of Missouri.

The Hot Topic Hotline Webinars

The Hot Topic Hotline (HTH) is a bi-monthly program for members to discuss relevant issues. Each HTH is sponsored by an advisory board member. This program provides an opportunity for regulators, industry, and consumer advocates to discuss and debate issues on a variety of topics in a neutral environment.

FRI Crystal Award for Distinguished Contribution

The FRI Crystal Award for Distinguished Contribution recognizes an individual who has made recent outstanding and significant contributions to the design, implementation, or analysis of public utility regulatory policy. It provides an opportunity to recognize excellence and achievement across regulated industries and further promotes the mission and purpose of the FRI.


State Commission Board Representation

Arkansas ~ Commissioner Kimberly A. O'Guinn
California ~ Commissioner Clifford Rechtshaffen 
Connecticut ~ Vice Chairman John W. "Jack" Betkoski III
Florida ~ Commissioner Julie I. Brown
Georgia ~ Commissioner Tricia Pridemore
Idaho ~ Commissioner Paul Kjellander
Illinois ~ Commissioner Sadzi Oliva
Indiana ~ Commissioner Sarah Freeman
Iowa ~ Commissioner Richard W. Lozier, Jr.
Kansas ~ Commissioner Shari Feist Albrecht
Kentucky ~ Commissioner Talina R. Mathews, PhD
Mississippi ~ Chairman Brandon Presley
Missouri  ~ Commissioner Daniel Y. Hall 
Montana ~ Chairman Brad Johnson
New Jersey ~ Commissioner Mary-Anna Holden FRI Advisory Board Vice Chair
Ohio ~ Vice Chair M. Beth Trombold
Oklahoma ~ Commissioner Dana L. Murphy
South Carolina ~ Commissioner John "Butch" Howard

Advisory Board

The FRI Advisory Board was established in 1988 as an essential component of the FRI. The board includes regulators, industry executives, and consumer representatives and operates under the leadership of John S. Howe, PhD. The board provides financial assistance and identifies the FRI’s strategic direction.

Associate Membership

To further advance the FRI mission, the associate membership program was developed to include a wider set of companies, organizations, and individuals with an interest in the water, gas, and electric industries.